National Stakeholders´Consultations on the Deployment of Renewable Energy Technologies for Productive Use in Nigeria

Abuja, 25th June 2024 – The ECOWAS Center for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency (ECREEE) in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Power of Nigeria, and the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (AECID), organized a hybrid National Stakeholders’ Consultative Workshop on the “Deployment of Renewable Energy Technologies for Productive Use in Selected Agricultural Value Chains” in Nigeria.

Facilitated by the African Circular Economy Network (ACEN) Foundation, this august gathering brought together relevant stakeholders from government ministries, development agencies, and private sector actors working on circular economy agricultural value chains, and water-energy nexus.  The official opening ceremony of the meeting was graced by the Director of Renewable and Rural Power Access of the Federal Ministry of Power of Nigeria, the Spanish Ambassador to Nigeria and ECOWAS and ECREEE’s Ag Director for Administration and Finance represented the ECREEE Executive Director.

Climaxing the national consultative phase of the ECREEE/AECID project activity in Nigeria following a conduct of successive stakeholders’ consultative workshops held in Benin, Cabo Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and The Gambia. The project’s consultative meeting prioritized value chains where energy efficiency in energy-intensive agribusiness sectors would be most impactful, enhance livelihoods, and improve the source of economy for rural poor communities.

As an outcome of this national consultative meeting, the methodology for in-country data collection was finalized, agricultural value-chains and interventions sites were identified for the design and implementation of a pilot-project in Nigeria. This energy access for productive use in circular economy initiative has the propensity to contribute to sustainable and inclusive economic growth in Nigeria and will inform on scaling-up replication pathways for other countries in West Africa.